Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

The Early Years Foundation Stage

At Caldecote, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage for children from birth to five years old. The curriculum’s framework refers to planned learning experiences based on different key aspects of children’s development and learning in the following areas:

Prime Areas: 

•  Personal, Social and Emotional Development 
•  Communication and Language
•  Physical Development

Specific Areas:

•  Literacy 
•  Mathematics 
•  Understanding the World 
•  Expressive Arts and Design


At nursery we aim to develop and broaden the range of children’s learning experiences through the 7 areas of the curriculum.

The Characteristics of Effective Learning:

•  Playing and Exploring
•  Active Learning
•  Creating and Thinking Critically

The characteristics of learning run through and underpin all seven areas of learning and development, representing processes rather than outcomes.

The 2021 Early Years Foundation Stage Framework 


This document provides a wealth of information for parents on what to look for as their child develops and how to support them on their learning journey.